FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Paul Sweeney, NEIBA Publicist

Date: Thursday, May 15, 2003

Phone: 617/627-3586

2003 ALL-NEW ENGLAND DIVISION III BASEBALL TEAMS ANNOUNCED

MEDFORD – The Eastern Connecticut State University Baseball team, ranked #1 in the country and the defending national champion, placed three players on the 2003 All-New England Division III First Team released today. Senior second baseman Morgan Thompson, junior pitcher Joey Serfass and senior catcher Jeff Funaro represent the Warriors, who are 37-7 and will host the NCAA regional tournament starting today. Eastern Connecticut Head Coach Bill Holowaty was chosen as New England Division III Coach of the Year.

Bridgewater State College, the MASCAC champion, features senior SS Chad Kambra and senior OF Jeremy Winters on the First Team. Senior second baseman Kurt Piantek and junior pitcher Kevin Tidmarsh of NESCAC champion Trinity College were also selected. Williams College of NESCAC was the fourth team to boast multiple players on the First Team, with junior first baseman Jabe Bergeron and senior third baseman Austin Lehn.

University of Massachusetts Dartmouth senior Brian Pereira is the First Team DH. Westfield State College junior Patrick Ryan and Suffolk University sophomore Mike Maguire were also named in the outfield. The First Team pitching staff includes Brandeis University senior Tom McShane and Tufts University senior Jon Lee.

FIRST TEAM

DH – Brian Pereira, Sr., UMass Dartmouth

C – Jeff Funaro, Sr., Eastern Connecticut

1B – Jabe Bergeron, Jr., Williams

2B – Kurt Piantek, Sr., Trinity

2B – Morgan Thompson, Sr., Eastern Connecticut

3B – Austin Lehn, Sr., Williams

SS – Chad Cambra, Sr., Bridgewater State

OF – Jeremy Winters, Sr., Bridgewater State

OF – Mike Maguire, So., Suffolk

OF - Patrick Ryan, Jr., Westfield State

P – Tom McShane, Sr., Brandeis

P – Jon Lee, Sr., Tufts

- P Kevin Tidmarsh, Jr., Trinity
- P Joey Serfass, Jr., Eastern Connecticut

SECOND TEAM

- DH Vin Caruso, Sr., Albertus Magnus
- C Joe Kehoe, Sr., Babson
- 1B Rob Dolliver, Sr., Trinity
- 2B Andy Lang, Sr., Southern Maine
- 3B Brian Robinson, Jr., Roger Williams
- SS Toby Cole, Jr., Springfield
- OF Eugene Julien, Jr., Eastern Connecticut
- OF Adam Lemieux, Jr., Southern Maine
- OF Jeff Natale, So., Trinity
- OF Mike Lucas, Sr., Endicott
- P Chad Cosby, Sr., Worcester State
- P Marc Cahill, So., Southern Maine
- P Ryan DiPietro, Fr., Eastern Connecticut
- P Adam Czerwinski, Sr., Eastern Connecticut

THIRD TEAM

- DH Greg Hickey, Jr., Tufts
- C Ryan Holleran, Sr., Salve Regina
- 1B Eric Carsner, Jr., Johnson & Wales
- 2B Greggory Nettleton, Sr., UMass Dartmouth
- 2B Jim Shea, So., Bowdoin
- 3B Rob Cipolla, So., Wheaton
- SS Kevin Higa, Sr., Babson

- SS Jay Wyatt, Sr., Albertus Magnus
- OF Dwight Wildman, Jr., Eastern Connecticut
- OF Jeff Maurutis, So., Western New England
- OF Brian Milleisen, So., Fitchburg State
- OF Evan Zupancic, Sr., Tufts
- P Andy Kerns, Jr., Amherst
- P Mike Hunsinger, Sr., Wheaton
- P Randy Newsom, Jr., Tufts
- P Carl Rivers, Sr., Western Connecticut
- P Tim Hart, Sr., Bridgewater State

COACH OF THE YEAR

Bill Holowaty, Eastern Connecticut